Saturday, September 1, 2007

Tossing!

Hi! Yesterday, I was at the closing ceremony for my volunteer program in City Hall and my fellow volunteers and I went to Battery Park to hang out. Many people were playing football but I brought my frisbee and I tossed with a few people, although I didn't get to catch much since some of my friends' throws didn't even reach that far [no offense!]. It was quite windy on Friday and I got to read the disc a couple of times and many of my fellow volunteers were impressed with my skills. Richard, from the guys team, was also there because we're in the same program but he played football instead of tossing :( .

Today I also tossed. I had a fun day with Amy, Karen [Amy's cousin], Angel, Anna, Natasha, and Nicole in Central Park. We tossed in a circle and everyone's throws were looking great! Later, we played the double court game, which is Natasha's favorite game ever. In one of the games, it was Natasha and Anna [the twins] against me and Amy [the real twins]. Of course the real twins won. It was fun, even though there were many interuptions from a baby that kept walking onto our court. He was cute and even took off his pants for Amy! After several rounds of the game, we all went to a nearby store and ate a late lunch.

Wednesday, August 29, 2007

Pickup III

So, as some of you know, I cut my toe a while ago and got stitches so I was supposed to be out for a while. Instead I tossed a couple times, went to practice, and played pickup (although I was healed by the time I did pickup). Practice on Saturday was fun. We worked on marking a lot, ran some drills, and scrimmaged. It was really hot though. Then after that Anna, Tetyana, and I tossed in Prospect on Tuesday. We played a little pickup but not much, and the tossing was long-distance and pretty exciting.

Then today was the last Stuy pickup before school! And as you all know I think school (and anything but ultimate) is time wrongly spent (because it's not ultimate), but at least we get to start practices again! Anyway I played a whole lot, and at first I felt bad but then later I didn't because most of the girls showed no interest in playing. If you're going to go, then PLAY! What a great opportunity. Getting guys to throw to you is not that hard, the field wasn't that big, the conditions were good. However, it was funny to see all the guys fighting for chances to play and not having to worry about it.

Aiight peace out,
Ultimate Zombie

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Fun with prep and frisbee

This whole summer I've been kinda busy with SAT prep (six days a week - ew), which is sadly why I missed the past two Saturday practices. :| But usually after prep around 6 when my dad comes home, I toss with him and my brother almost everyday (except when it rains. Like yesterday.) It's nothing hardcore or anything - just casual tossing for 30 min. to an hour. But even though it was only for about 40 minutes a day or something, I still think I improved. I mean, I think. I'm not sure. I don't feel like I improved. And I kept on changing my forehand. But at least I think I stayed the same though. Wait, what I mean is that if you're not me, if you toss even a couple of minutes a day, you'll improve. Yeah. That's what I meant. So, pay your sibling a dollar, go out there, and toss~! :)

Friday, August 17, 2007

Pickup!

Today was pickup at Roosevelt Island and I was there along with Grace, Tetyana, Palak, Constance, Sara, Cathy, Amy, and Andy and a bunch of guys from the team. There were also alums (like Chia-Yi!), and the game was fun and pretty casual. It lasted for couple of hours or so but luckily the field we were on had lights so we could keep playing despite the dark. It was also Tetyana's birthday so after all that rigorous playing we got to have cake! All you guys missed out on ultimate AND cake. I also worked on my thumber, which is very important and definitely necessary to be able to throw when playing ultimate.

Monday, August 13, 2007

Hi !

Saturday practice was really hot, but was filled with fun drills and throwing. And what made it better was seeing almost everyone again. I think my throws looked pretty good on Saturday. By Sunday morning, I was sore :( . I also experienced some ankle problems in both ankles. This is the first time my ankles ever got injured. I'm pretty worried about it but I'm doing some of the ankle strengthening excersized that Amy posted up on the yahoo group in April. I'm still a little sore and my ankles are a little better but they still hurt when I walk. Natasha told me to post on the blog about how I am sore, so now you all know. And yes, I learned my lesson; I should've been doing track workouts all Summer long but I only did it once [more like half a track workout-- i mean plyos]

Anyways,
Leech, OUT!

Practice!

We had our first summer practice on Saturday, and though it was hot it wasn't too bad and it was a lot of fun. We started off with some pretty easy jogging and some plyos, then we threw for quite a while with form and grip in mind. After this we did a bunch of drills which required more running than usual because we had eight people, but it still wasn't all that much running. They were endzone (yay we got five in a row!), go to (that was a failure), cutting drill, away cuts, box drill, and maybe something else I forgot. Then we ended with double disc court! It's a really fun game played two on two but it isn't really physically straining. Throughout the day we took plenty of water breaks because staying hydrated is really important, especially in the sunny and hot weather we had. After practice I walked around Flushing for a long time with Anna, so overall it was a day of some decent exercise.

Monday, August 6, 2007

So much electric slide

So I was at the beach most of the time during the past week (the ocean was a few blocks from where I was staying so much walking was done) and IT WAS FANTASTIC. There was much swimming done and a lot of boogy-boarding. Also much beach walking and running and general walking. On top of that there was TENNIS which brought up more than a few ultimate thoughts which were subsequently shared with my brother to the tune of annoying the crap out of him. Most of all, tho, there was tossing. The first time it was just me and my brother tossing on the shore in the evening until we couldnt see the frisbee anymore. It was pretty calm so the tossing was far but easy. Then I tossed with my dad in the ocean. Lots of diving for the disc into waves. We ended up going neck deep in the water and tossing like that. Lots of high releases and "sorry sir, that was my elbow in your back." On the last night I tossed with my bro again and there was a pretty strong wind in my face and towards the ocean so I worked quite a bit on my low releases and inside-out forehand. It was great practice and I'm really hoping to fix my grip. Also we went jet-skiing which involved a whole bunch of hanging on for dear life while sitting in the back. When I got on, however, no amount of hanging on would help and i threw us into the ocean. There was some pretty hardcore scrambling to the jetski and then quite a bit of wake-jumping on the way back to the dock. Also I saw the STICKY FINGERS steak house and it made me think of you all. Cant wait to play again and see my team.